Now Reading
Angola Regional Renewable Energy Center Inaugurated

Angola Regional Renewable Energy Center Inaugurated

The headquarters of the Regional Center for Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency (RCREEE) of Central Africa was inaugurated last week, in the Municipality of Viana, in Luanda, by the Angolan minister of Energy and Waters, João Baptista Borges.

The center is a specialized institution of the Economic Community of Central Africa (ECCAS), whose mission is to ensure the coordination of renewable energy and energy efficiency policy and to promote an integrated and inclusive market for products and services linked in the region.

The infrastructure will provide for the deepening of cooperation ties in the technical and socio-economic area in the field of renewable energy, with the ECCAS States, the increase in the production of electricity from renewable sources, as well as the interconnection of power lines in the respective territories.

The cross-border electrification of localities, close cooperation and neighbourly relations between member states, through the development of infrastructures that will boost activities are other purposes of the institution.

In his opening speech, João Baptista Borges said that the center’s main challenge will be to supply the region’s population with cheap and reliable energy.

According to him, the central region of Africa is very rich from an energy point of view and the energy poverty it faces cannot be justified, hoping that the center will help improve access to electricity and promote the progress of countries in the region.

See Also

The center resulted from the meeting of the ministers responsible for energy of the ECCAS member, held on June 3, 2021, with one of the objectives being to conclude the feasibility study on the creation of a dedicated structure renewable energies and energy efficiency in Central Africa, then called the Center for Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency in Central Africa (CEREEAC), which has the support of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) and the United Nations Organization for Industrial Development (UNIDO).

The Economic Community of Central African Member States comprises Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, DR Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe and Chad.

Further Africa

a d v e r t i s e m e n t



Scroll To Top

We have detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or other adblocking software which is causing you to not be able to view 360 Mozambique in its entirety.

Please add to your adblocker’s whitelist or disable it by refreshing afterwards so you can view the site.