Now Reading
Kulemba and Cornelder Launch the Second Edition of the Mia Couto Literary Prize

Kulemba and Cornelder Launch the Second Edition of the Mia Couto Literary Prize

The Kulemba Association, in partnership with Cornelder de Moçambique, has launched the second edition of the Mia Couto Literary Prize this past week, with registrations open until May 10th.

The Mia Couto Literary Prize aims to stimulate quality literary production in Mozambique, recognizing the best works published annually. The prize has two categories (prose and poetry), with one work being distinguished in each category. For the prose category, in even years, the prize will be awarded to the best short story, and in odd years, to the best novel. Thus, in 2024, the prize will distinguish a book of short stories.

The Mia Couto Literary Prize is awarded to books by Mozambican authors, published in the Portuguese language, with the first edition having been published between January 1st and December 31st, 2023. The competing books must have been published in printed version. The competing book must be original, not containing any parts previously published in a book. From the same author, no more than one work should be distinguished.

Competitors must fill out a registration form, which must be submitted along with five (5) copies of the book, in a sealed envelope, with the category they are competing in written on the envelope. Registrations for this second edition should take place from April 10th to May 10th, 2024.

a d v e r t i s e m e n t

The evaluation of the works will be done in two phases, the first to select the five finalists in each category, and the second to indicate the prize winners. The finalist works will be announced on the Kulemba Association website and social media on July 5th. The prize winners will be announced by August 5th, 2024. The award ceremony for the winners will take place in September 2024, during the Beira Book Fair, FLIB 2024.

The evaluation process of the registered books will be carried out by a Jury consisting of five members, designated by the organization, who must decide with the presence of the majority of the members. The Jury must select one winner for each category. The winners will be awarded cash prizes, in the amount of 400,000 MZN (four hundred thousand meticais) for each category.

See Also

In the first edition of the Prize, Bento Baloi (prose) and Belmiro Mouzinho (poetry) were distinguished.

O País


Scroll To Top

We have detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or other adblocking software which is causing you to not be able to view 360 Mozambique in its entirety.

Please add to your adblocker’s whitelist or disable it by refreshing afterwards so you can view the site.